top of page
Search

Amazing Aquaponics

Okay, so I am a 13 year old boy from a very small town in Maine. I go to MJHS okay and I got asked if I wanted to join this new program called Kvmpa (I had wanted to join anyway) and I said yes. The minute I walked in I was astonished. So many opportunities, I just crumbled. Kvmpa is a program that teaches real skills. The best thing about Kvmpa (what I'm writing about) is the aquaponics.

We have amazing aquaponics. We are using all organic items. Some part of all of our systems are built by students! Our newest built NFT system is built of pretty much pvc and rain gutters. This helps our seedlings get extra oxygen because the water is moving quickly by the roots. These systems might even save our planet earth, because we will need different ways of growing food in the future. Our population is going to explode and our resources won’t be able to keep up. Aquaponics gives you produce and a protein and you could do it anywhere!

We are learning how to feed the future and how to grow food locally for ourselves, without adding synthetics. We provide lettuce to our school salad bar and sell our food locally. It’s like running our own business.

bottom of page